New Archive 2011-2012

News Academic Year 2011-2012

  • Researchers at UC Davis will host a transit of Venus viewing gathering on Tuesday, June 5th, starting at 3 p.m. in the west end of the campus's Parking Lot 2. Geology graduate student John Peterson will set up a telescope with a solar filter to view the transit.

  • "Rare meteorite fragment donated to UC Davis geologist" from the UC Davis News Service.

  • UCD Geology graduate student Scott Bennett is highlighted in UCD Office of Graduate Studies' graduate student spotlight.

  • UCD Geology graduate student Amy Williams received the Dean's Prize in the category for Best Oral Presentation, among L&S graduate students from the Division of Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the 2012 Interdisciplinary Graduate and Professional Symposium.

  • Dave Osleger is a 2011-12 recipient of the Academic Senate's Undergraduate Distinguished Teaching Award.

  • Annular solar eclipse glasses: Geology Club at UC Davis fundraiser

  • "Are earthquakes foretold by maths?" An interview with Don Turcotte.

  • UCD Geology graduate student Katrina Arredondo received an honorable mention by the 2012 NSF GRFP Award Committee, one of only 3 Geoscience students to be recognized from the entire UC system as the proposed graduate institution.

  • "Focus: Mystery of Isotope Separation in Lava is Solved". Classical physics explains why isotopes segregate in molten rock. Chip Lesher is a co-author. 

  • "Near-Field Deformation from the El Mayor-Cucapah Earthquake Revealed by Differential LIDAR". 
    From Science: Aerial remote sensing before and after an earthquake allows researchers to identify new faults and ruptures. Research work being done by Michael Oskin and UCD Geology graduate students Austin Elliot and Peter Gold.

  • Isabel Montañez will be part of the 2012 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) symposium panel on climate mitigation.

  • Geology Associate Professor Qing-zhu Yin is one of the 2011-12 Chancellor's Fellows, faculty members who are being honored early in their careers, for having already compiled outstanding records of achievement. Each fellow receives a $25,000 prize.

  • Geology graduate student Andrew Fowler receives the Geothermal Resources Council's (GRC) Best Presentation Award for his oral presentation "Hydrothermal Alteration and Geochemistry in Core Hole BC12-31: Implications for Segregation of Transient Flow Regimes in the Long Valley Geothermal System" at the 2011 GRC Annual Meeting (Geology/Exploration 11 Session) in San Diego, CA this past October. 

  • Geology graduate student Scott Bennett receives the Geothermal Resources Council's (GRC) Best Presentation Award for his oral presentation "Geothermal Potential of Transtensional Plate Boundaries" at the 2011 GRC Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA this past October. 

  • UCD Geology Research Associate Donna Eberhart-Phillips has been elected an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand. She is a world leader in the development and application of three-dimensional seismic tomography codes.

  • "A Foram's Tale - Documentary" - featuring research being done by UCD Geology's Howie SperoAnn Russell and Jennifer Fehrenbacher.

  • "Assessing California earthquake forecasts" - from UCD News Service. UC Davis researchers compare seven different earthquake forecasts (including their own) that were submitted to a competition organized by the Southern California Earthquake Center.

  • Isabel P. Montañez, professor of geology and a 2011 Guggenheim Fellow, will serve as master of ceremonies for the campus' annual Fall Convocation. Wednesday, September 21, 2011, from 10 to 11 a.m. in Jackson Hall of the Robert and Margrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts 

  • Ken Verosub is in Pavia, Italy (September 10-27), teaching a short course on Earth Sciences and Natural Disasters in a Masters Program on Risk and Emergency Management. The program is part of the Understanding and Managing Extremes Graduate School of the Institute for Advanced Studies in Pavia. Students from 8 countries (Italy, Turkey, Pakistan, India, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Brazil and Mexico) are enrolled in the program.

  • Graham Fogg is the 2011 recipient of the O.E. Meinzer Award, bestowed annually by the Hydrogeology Division of GSA to an individual deemed to have most significantly affected the course of the science of hydrogeology.

  • Geology staff Joseph Abril, Greg Baxter, Janice Fong, Amanda Isaac, Susan Lopez, Lauren Nakashima, Paul Waterstraat, Kengshi Yang and Lisa Zaragoza are the recipients of a 2011 Citations for Excellence Award for being a working group who continually distinguishes itself in one or more areas of outstanding achievement.

  • Gift to foster field research: Couple includes geology department in their will. A planned gift from Eldridge and Judith Moores will support UC Davis geology students in conducting field work — an essential component to understanding the "big geological experiment" that is the Earth, as Eldridge describes it.