Dean Atekwana

Dean Estella Atekwana elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Congratulations to UC Davis' Dean of the College of Letters and Science Estella Atekwana who was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Atekwana, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, is among 250 new members elected to the academy this year and joins an esteemed group of members who include 250 Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners and past innovators such as Margret Mead, Jonas Salk, Barbara McClintock, John F. Kennedy, E.O. Wilson, Adeleine Albright, and Martin Luther King, Jr. She was elected for the area of Mathematical and Physical Sciences and for specialties in Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Earth Sciences. Atekwana is a fellow of the Geological Society of America and the American Geophysical Union, and a member of the American Geophysical Union, Geological Society of America, European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers, Geochemical Society, Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science and the National Association of Black Geoscientists.

Read the full article here.